The following comment was written by a nurse who describes herself as being at the “breaking point” due to the daily stress caused by understaffing in the facility where she’s worked the day shift for approximately three years. We feel the stress this nurse is experiencing and ask you to join us in praying for this person and all compassionate, hard working nurses and nurse’s aides that God will grant them the strength to do all they can for the resident’s entrusted into their care.

The nurse that wrote the following comment works the day shift at a nursing home located in Indiana, which is one of 13 states where the nursing home industry has such an overwhelming control of state legislators that no minimum staffing standards are in place.

I love building a relationship with my nursing home residents. I live for making their day a little better. Yet more and more I feel like I am going to have a breakdown. I don’t think I can do it anymore. The demands made by administrators are unattainable because there are too few people on the floor working.

I work day shift — when management is in the facility — despite being clearly short staffed, they act like its not a big deal. Then they leave and the staffing levels on second and third shift are even worse! IF they failed to staff enough people they will threaten us if we leave with charges of abadonment instead of taking the floor themselves.

I want to take quality care of my residents. I used to think it was my fault and that if I just tried harder and harder all would be well. Now I see more and more its them (management)! I stay over late hours nearly every night. I don’t take lunch breaks but maybe once a week. I feel by staying in this job I’m condoning the poor care. I pray every morning before I go in for God to give me the strength to be the best I can be to provide for my residents.

I have to find a new job. I cant condone this any longer. The facility where I work wasn’t always like this. But then new management took over a few years ago.

This morning I had to wait until 9:00am to pass morning medications because there was no one to feed residents who must have assistance with eating. So I feed them the best I could, but there should have been two additional staff on duty to take care of this important need!

I hate not revealing the WHOLE truth to familys, but the WHOLE truth is too ugly.

Speaking of prayer, we also need to be praying for God to move upon the hearts and minds of all for-profit nursing home owners, administrators and stock holders — these people are responsible for the insanity and inhumanity of understaffing.  Their greed has created and intensified the problem in Indiana and elsewhere.

Breakingnurse
E-mail none@aim.com
Comment I am day shift nurse in an Indiana LTC faciltiy I have been doing this for the past three years @ the same place. I love building a realtionship with the residents, I live for making their day a little better. And more and more I feel like I am going to have a break down .I dont think I can do it anymore. The demands made by administrators are unattainable becasue there are just too few people on the floor working. I work day shift, and management is there, we will be short on the floor and they act like its not a big deal. Then they leave and 2nd and 3rd shift are staffed even worse. IF they failed to staff enough people they will threaten us if we leave with charges of abadonment instead of taking the floor themselves. I want to take quality care of people, I used to think it was my fault that if I just tried harder and harder and now I see more and more its them! I stay over late hours nearly everynight, I dont take lunch breaks but maybe once a week. I feel like if stay I will be condoning the poor care that is available.I pray every morning before i go in for God to give me the strenght to be the best I can be to provide for my residents. I have to find a new job, I cant condone this. The facilty wasnt always like this, then we got new management a few years ago. This morning I had to wait until 9am to pass am meds because there was no one to feed people in assistive eating, so i feed them the best I could but there should have been 2 people. I hate not revealing the WHOLE truth to familys, but the WHOLE truth is too ugly and I now there isnt a better long term care facilty.
